top of page

The Taxi Cab Robins

We received a call from a wonderful gentleman in Peterborough (115 miles/185 km away from us). A robin's nest had fallen from a tree the day before. Could I send someone to pick up the birds? After we talked, he realized just how far away he was from Destined to Fly and he did not have a car. I told him to keep the babies warm and to call a local vet, in the hopes that they might be able to help. I jokingly said that if I won the lottery, I would hire a taxi to bring the birds. We rang off. A few minutes later, he called back, he had just hired a taxi to drive the birds from Peterborough to Destined to Fly . They were on their way. It cost him $300.00! A couple of hours later the birds arrived. Honestly, I thought, by that time, they would have died. I was astounded when the taxi driver handed me a nest (the original one) containing 3 robins with their heads held high, begging for food. He told me that he drove without any AC, because he knew that babies need to be warm.

It took 4 hours to rehydrate them, but I am happy to say that today they are doing well. I posted it on my FB page and we now have 4 drivers who have signed up. There was an article in the Peterborough Examiner. I also received a phone call from Wei Chen of CBC radio, Ontario morning show. Hoping that it will help to get the word out about calling a rehabber as soon as you find a baby bird.

I am still delighted and surprised by this man's kindness. He has made my week, month, year.....

The taxi cab robins

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page